Our project

A sustainable urban plan

Urban sprawl was the preferred means of growth for Montreal’s metropolitan region for the last 50 years. Projet Montréal intends on repositioning Montreal at the center of its own regional, economic field of activity and offer its citizens housing that is adapted to their needs, an offering that will be delivered through public transport, proximity of services and neighbourhoods of human scale, so that they stay in Montreal.

A sustainable, economic prosperity

While the regions to the north and south continue to experience economic growth, Montreal’s economy is stagnating. Suburban growth is having a direct impact on the City’s economy and impoverishment. It is Projet Montréal’s will to reignite Montreal’s economy by slowing down the urban exodus, counting on sustainable transportation, stimulating investment and consolidating the numerous economic assets from which Montreal currently benefits.

An exemplary cultural scene

From a cultural perspective, Montreal possesses great potential. However, the City’s current leadership is not up to the task. Projet Montréal urges the City to take a leadership position for the cultural sector, integrating cultural perspectives in the urban development strategy as well as protecting Montreal’s urban, architectural and historical heritage.

A renewed democracy

Decades of corruption and lack of transparency have undermined Montrealers’ confidence towards elected public officials. Project Montréal wishes Montreal to be a city where democracy thrives and where residents are not just considered as tax payers, but citizens in the full sense of the term, directly involved in the decision-making process.

Notre projet

Un développement urbain durable

L’étalement urbain a été le mode de développement privilégié de la région métropolitaine de Montréal depuis une cinquantaine d’années. Projet Montréal entend recentrer sur Montréal les dynamiques de développement de l’ensemble de la région urbaine et offrir aux citoyens des logements adaptés à leurs besoins, une offre bonifiée de transport en commun, des services de proximité, et des quartiers à échelle humaine, pour qu’ils demeurent à Montréal.

Une économie prospère et durable

Alors que les couronnes nord et sud poursuivent leur croissance économique, l’économie de Montréal stagne. La croissance de la banlieue a un effet direct sur l’économie montréalaise et l’appauvrissement de la Ville. Projet Montréal souhaite relancer l’économie montréalaise en freinant l’étalement urbain, en misant sur les transports durables, en stimulant l’investissement et en consolidant les nombreux acquis économiques dont bénéficie déjà Montréal.

Une vitalité culturelle exemplaire

Au niveau culturel, Montréal possède un immense potentiel, pourtant, la Ville manque à son rôle de leader. Projet Montréal souhaite que la Ville assume un rôle de leadership dans le secteur culturel, qu’elle intègre la culture dans sa stratégie de développement et qu’elle protège son patrimoine urbain, bâti et historique.

Une démocratie renouvelée

Des décennies de corruption et de manque de transparence ont miné la confiance des Montréalais envers leurs élus et l’administration. Projet Montréal souhaite que Montréal soit une ville où la démocratie est vivante et où les habitants ne sont pas considérés comme de simples contribuables, mais bien comme des citoyens à part entière directement impliqués dans la prise de décision.